Uncategorized

Free My Freedom

Image
(Woman Before the Rising Sun by Caspar David Friedrich)
FREEDOM
I’ve always wondered why it pained me so
To remain rooted and stable in my being
The moment the 365th day passes
Elations escape and I yearn to move
The first time it happened I blamed myself
Blamed the comfort and luxuries I was always afforded
Blamed the exposure and too much leisurely moments
The lack of responsibility and obligations abounded
But then it happened about 1096 days later
The desire to move, the itch to uproot
No sense of security abated the follies
I longed to see sea, sky, and earth in rampant paces
To release myself from the life I spent
The very life of the past 1096 days
This second time I said was my fatigue speaking
Blamed the stress and pressure of drudgery
Blamed the boring conversations on repeat
But still in my escape route I reveled
Taking another 365 in a foreign space
Working my hands to my mind extended
Till winter came along in one full circle
My wings they twitched in anticipation
The desire to move, the itch to uproot
No love of man could hold me back
No promise of success outweighed the craze
And this time I realized it’s just me
It’s who I was, and who I am meant to be
A gypsy in blood, 44% a nomad
From the highlands in the Himalayas
The only place close to a home
I pride in my need to uproot so often
It’s who I was, and who I am meant to be
No clicking tongues and pitying glances
My bohemian self I am learning to embrace
It’s who I am, and who I will always be
The first thing standing between me and my happy
The last thing standing between me and my freedom



Standard

Leave a Reply

