Uncategorized

Just be WEIRD till you get noticed, then just be FAMOUS

“For young men, and women, too, what makes you different or weird, that’s your strength. Everyone tries to look a cookie-cutter kind of way and actually the people who look different are the ones who get picked up.” – Meryl Streep

Image

I, like all other twenty-somethings, have many many many things I dislike about myself. I can readily list the things I would want to change about myself, but ask me to give one thing, quality/trait, whatever, that I love about myself and I find myself struggling. It usually starts out as a modest uncomfortableness where I think ‘how proud and egotistical it would be of me to list something I LOVE about myself…’ which soon turns into ‘Oh geez, if I have to, what do I love about myself….’ to, ‘Oh my god! there is nothing I really love about myself…..’ to inevitably, ‘Wow! I just wish I could be someone else….like that girl with her long legs and shiny hair and her nonchalant ability to read Tolstoy in her short shorts in this busy cafe.’ But I am not her. I am the other person sitting on the side people watching, with my Asian freckles and almond shaped eyes, my “strong legs” in a bohemian skirt, probably secretly reading 50 Shades of Grey on my kindle because god knows no proper Asian daughter thinks about, has, or knows about sex, let alone BDSM :p I know I have a lot of quirky qualities about me, both physically and in my character and for a long time I hated them, but as I grow older I realize that these are exactly what set me apart. What makes me special and probably most likely to stand out from the crowd. I came across this Merly Streep quote and thought, how wonderful! This is exactly what I have been telling myself, that my extremely expressive face with its ability to make the most awkward funny faces will be exactly the thing that will make me famous one day hahahaha. Hey! at least it makes people laugh, even if I didn’t make the face on purpose for their laughing pleasure (it was just my face’s instinctive reaction 😦 )

Standard

Leave a Reply

